Skip to content

well look at that, zach made a blog. . .

March 23, 2009

zachparkes

Hey there internet!

And welcome to my brand spankin new blog! Its launching marks the end (or at least the end-of-the-beginning) of my journey into “getting my e-shit together”, a journey that’s been looong overdue. However, due to a fantastic case of school-related procrastination, the last couple weeks have seen the creation of accounts on  Twitter, ReverbNation, Flickr, YouTube and now WordPress for me (all of which you can find links to on the right! *wink*), and while I’ve certainly got a long way to go in terms of “mastering” these sites, after only a small amount of effort, I’m already starting to see the incredible potential results these media outlets can offer.

For the last several years, my ‘online footprint’ has been extremely limited, consisting of only a Facebook and a poorly-managed Myspace, and they served for me, like they do for most people, as little more than a means of supplementing my otherwise day-to-day relationships – I basically only talked to and interacted with the people I saw every day, and never really felt the need to branch out with it. As stated, this seems to be a relatively common conception in regards to so-called “internet identities”, and while I feel I’ve grown past it now, I certainly still see where the point of view comes from: staying “close to home” online is easy, comfortable, and low-maintenance, and requires very little time or effort. I only had a couple very simple pages, a few key friends on them, and that was fine for me. I saw no apparent need to venture any further with it, and didn’t for years, and that was totally cool.

Recently, though, I’ve come to realize just how utterly limiting my former point of view was, and realized just how much there really is to gain from even the most modest bit of online effort (por ejemplo, after only about a week with a Twitter, I’ve already met some fascinating folks and gotten some great insight!). I suppose my change of heart can probably be just as easily blamed on starting to feel ‘behind the times’ as much as it could on the particularly heavy diet of  Steve Lawson I’ve been digesting lately (not only a fantastic bassist, but a brilliant mind when it comes to all things “Social Media”), but either way, the end result has been my complete and total surrender to the greatness of the interwebs. I’m here, I’m pretty stoked about it, I promise to keep it interesting, and I hope to get in touch with all y’all soon!

Peace out, and thanks again for stoppin by!

Z

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 1:14 am

    Hi there internet!

  2. March 23, 2009 9:24 am

    Hey Zach! Greetings from the twitterverse.
    Nice work on the blog/page!

    I can feel the tide of “give up your flash page and come over to the other side” gently washing over me. Nice theme, BTW, – might have to grab it for myself! 🙂

  3. Brett Cavanaugh permalink
    March 23, 2009 9:45 am

    hey man im overjoyed that you have this newfangled love for the internets, im not necissarily overjoyed however that you posted the wrong date for out show at the rockit room….

    • March 23, 2009 3:04 pm

      Dudum – Sorry you didn’t win, man, I totally voted for you for duder. Gotta say, seeing your abandoned headquarters next to Gene’s Liquor every day makes me miss the good times we almost had.

      Neil – Hey, thanks for the props, man! Yeah, there’s always a trade-off with this stuff, but I’m pretty pleased with wordpress so far. The dark side’s really not too bad. . . . : )

      Brett – Screw you man, I put both of em! lol Our 4/20 gig just isn’t on my “upcoming gigs” thing yet cuz it’s not upcoming. Patience, good sir, patience. . .

Leave a Reply

